The Caribbean is home to several beautiful island nations, known for its stunning natural beauty, pristine beaches, lovely weather, and its citizenship by investment programmes. These Caribbean countries are known for their attractive Citizenship by Investment programmes – the programmes are very similar, there are some distinct differences that will impact your final decision. For those considering investing in a second passport, it is important to understand these differences to make an informed decision that suits you and your family best. 

St. Kitts & Nevis 

The dual island nation of St. Kitts & Nevis has the longest-running and was the first country to develop citizenship by investment programme, which started in 1986 and has since allowed the country to offer one of the most popular programmes. Investors have the option to either invest in a government-approved real estate development or make a one-time government contribution which helps support the countries economy and development. 

The real estate investment starts from $200,000, which should be held for at least seven years, and the independent investment starts from $400,000 with a shorter holding period of five years. The donation route entails a non-refundable $150,000 contribution to the Sustainable Growth Fund Contribution (SGF). A family of four, which consists of an applicant and three dependents, including a spouse and two children, is required to contribute $195,000. For any additional dependent, $10,000 must be added. With visa-free access to over 156 countries, it is the strongest CBI passport in the Caribbean, making it an attractive passport for those seeking global mobility. The countries attractive taxation policies have allowed the country to be a desirable place for individuals and their families to gain citizenship in order to have greater control over their finances. 

Antigua & Barbuda 

Another beautiful island nation, Antigua & Barbuda first started its citizenship programme in 2013 and has proven a popular option for families with it being the most affordable option for multiple applicants. At just $140,000 a family of four can receive full citizenship, which can be passed down through generations. The country offers three primary routes to citizenship by investment. Firstly, a one-time donation of $100,000 to the countries National Development Fund, $150,000 one time donation to the University of West Indies for families up to 6 members, or an investment into a government-approved real estate project starting from $200,000.

St. Lucia 

Despite being one of the newest citizenship by investment programmes, St. Lucia has proven to be popular for being the only Caribbean country offering citizenship by investment through a government bond option starting at $250,000 and thus potentially the most risk-averse investment option out of all the CBI programmes. Alternatively, if individuals do not have that much available capital there is the other option of National Economic Fund one time contribution, which is $100,000 for a single applicant, $165,000 for a couple, and $190,000 for a family of four; and real estate investment option, which starts from $300,000 with a holding period of five years.

Commonwealth of Dominica 

Dominica is the most cost-effective citizenship programme for single applicants,  with the cost starting at  $100,000 for a one-time contribution to the government’s Economic Diversification Fund (EDF). For dual applicants, the cost goes up to $175,000, and for a family with up to two children, $200,000.  Alternatively, applicants can invest $200,000 in a government-approved real estate project for a minimum holding period of three years. 


Grenada is the only country in the Caribbean where its citizens are eligible for the US E2 visa, which would allow them to live and work in the USA. What’s more, it is the only Caribbean country to allow visa-free entry into China as well as 144 other countries. The country offers a similar programme to other Caribbean countries in that the two options available are either a donation of $150,000 to the government-run National Transformation Fund (NTF) as a single applicant or $200,000 to qualify a family of four or purchase of the real estate at the starting price of $350,000 with a holding period of four years.

For more information about these programmes book a free consultation with one of our immigration investment specialists, who will discuss the different options available and help you decide which programme is best for you. 

Leave a Reply